Vitamin C overdose and Inducing Periods: A Testimonial

Hi guys, I just want to share my experience about this Vitamin C thing ‘cause most threads I read are frustrating! I’ll add some facts later on though.

My story is that Aunt Flo hadn’t come in about 3 days it was due so I got scared ’cause it’s really normal to have it within that range. Having no money to go to an OB to ask questions, I sought for help on the internet – though I highly recommend going to the OB. I found that Vitamin C can aid in  making Aunt Flo visit. Based on search that I’ve done on the internet, most females got their periods in about 2-3 days through overdose of Vitamin C tablets (ascorbic acid only without any other components) in combination with parsley tea.

The reason I really thought Aunt Flo wouldn’t come was my lower back didn’t ache so much like it used to before having my period – though it did during my ovulation. And some other symptoms I usually have – women differ, right?

Anyway, I hurriedly bought Vitamin C tablets – here in the Philippines I bought “RHEA generics” brand. The bottle had 100 tablets inside since each tablet was 500mg, I had to take in 12 per day for 12 hours – 1 tab per hour. It’s said to be much more effective if taken small doses per hour since the body will only excrete what it cannot uptake. I didn’t try  parsley tea though.

I started on November 26 (2nd day after due) at 1:30PM and continued until 8:30PM – taking about 4,000mg of Vitamin C that day. It’s like I’m conditioning my body that I’ll be taking high doses of vitamin C – it’s better to do it gradually since it wouldn’t shock your body. Anyway, mine did shock my body. I got tender nips at about 8:30PM and midnight. I got a migraine at around 1:46AM on left side of head near the ear (though I have felt this a week back when I was sick). I also felt back pains during dinner time and abdomen gurgling randomly. I also kept on farting but haven’t really pooped. If I remember correctly I also felt heat emanating from me but my temp was below 37°C.

The next day (11-27), I drank the 12 tablets (about 6,000mg) of Vitamin C. I could feel random cramps and the usual heat but not all day. It’s almost the same as last night with the symptoms. By 11-28 and 11-29, things got better as if I adjusted to the intake of too much vitamin C though sometimes I could forget if I already drank a tablet. I had a calendar set up to remind me too though. Sometimes I would take 2 tablets in an hour but won’t drink for the next hour just in case I didn’t bring the vitamin C outside or forget.

Anyway, by 11-30 I was kind of losing hope cause before this day I also felt being wet. The wet feeling as if you’re ovulating and your underwear just keeps on being wet even with liners. So when I felt the “slushy” feeling as if a uterus lining passes through the cervix I doubted it and checked later. Luckily, I did check and I had light blood stain (this was about 3PM). I really got happy and quickly changed and got my pads. I would constantly check if blood would flow but it didn’t. But in the evening it finally came, really heavy. At first it didn’t hurt like my usual periods but later it very much did.

It’s my second day today so I’m hoping this goes on at least 4 days. I haven’t stopped drinking the tablets though but I am lowering the dose to half. 1 tablet every 2 hours. Since I’ve read some only have light/heavy period for 2 days when they took Vitamin C. I just tried this but I don’t know if it’s safe for all ’cause too much of anything can’t be bad.

NOTE: DRINK PLENTY OF WATER!

DISCLAIMER: I encourage you to go to the OB-GYN for such problems and if you want to do this. I’m not saying this actually works ‘casue I’m on the 35th day of menstrual cycle (though I’m usually 28 days) so it might have to do with something else not just the overdose. Also, always keep track of your periods so you’ll know when to freak out or not.

One thought on “Vitamin C overdose and Inducing Periods: A Testimonial

Leave a comment